Tuesday, 22 February 2011

Moved out of Ruths house, gave them some money to buy a vacum cleaner...they were very please with it!
I have moved to a place called Essendon which is North West suburb, just next to West Brunswich but it takes about 20mins on the bike to get to Brunswick and almost an hour to get into the centre of the city.
I'm staying with a lovely couple who have a piano and play guitar and sing which is lovely, it makes me want to learn....maybe the ukulele ?? They have a dog called Manu and 2 cats, its so very quite here...really lovely.
I have been working lots in a cafe, Italian restaurant and for the exhibition company, its nice to feel a bit settled but already trying to think what i'm doing next as mum comes next week.
I had an urge to read a book and wanted to find something interesting so after looking in a few bookshops i decided on Rachel Carsons 'Silent Spring" which i've looked at a few times, its a bit of a classic so thought it might be good background reading...for what exactly i'm not sure.
I started reading about the butterflies in England and how there used to be soooo many, and i really thought that when i was camping at Woodford folk festival, there were just so many everywhere and that's how i remember it to be when we walked up onto the chalk Southdowns..there would be chalkhill Blues,cabbage whites, Red admirals...you hardly ever see Red Admirals.....

Thursday, 10 February 2011

I was supposed to work at the restaurant on Tuesday but they didn't need me which was good because i actually didn't feel to well,but Zoe got a call from the exhibitions company saying we could work but buy the time i found out about not working in the cafe it was a bit too late, so i went to the super market which has lots of Greek and Italian foods in it because of the big Greek/Italian/Turkish population around here. They always have lots of really good fruit and veg on the "cheap shelf". I made a lovely soup with ginger and chilli and parsnip and noodles...yummmo! And shared it with my Ruth (who i'm staying with) and her housemates. They do quite a bit of sitting around talking about art and philosophising about all sorts...its like they are students but they're not they just don't have to stress about working soooo much like in the uk.
Wednesday Worked for the exhibition company with zoe from 8.30 until 6....lots of lifting and moving things around...it looked like the exhibition was for an agricultural show selling fertilizers!
We celebrated out long day with a cheap meal at the Hare Krishna's...yummm!
Thurday did washing and went to Ceres to look for a bike but the place was closed, in the afternoon went to look at another house a bit closer to Ruths, the guys were all in a band and was pretty much a guys house...but they were nice. Weren't to an open mike thing in the eve on Smith street...only second night out since I've been here...bloody hell!
until next time

Monday, 7 February 2011

Going to try and write more on here.... So yesterday Zoe and I did our first job under the "Helpful Fairies" which is a little business venture we have decided to do. So we cleaned someones house for them... it was a bit grimy but good, and we got $40 each for 4 hours work, then treated ourself to hot chocolate in a warm and cosey pub in St Kilda, as its actually been quite cold here in Melbourne and I feel like I have a cold...it actually feels like Auntumn!